world heritage sites in nepal
A complete guide about UNESCO world heritage sites in Nepal.

Nepal has a total of 10 sites listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites. They are comprised of three Durbar Squares, three Buddhist pilgrimage sites, two Hindu shrines, and two national parks. Seven of them are situated in Kathmandu Valley alone. These heritage sites are proof of Nepal's rich historical, cultural, architectural, and natural beauty. All of them have their distinct identity and unique background.

In this category, we will take you through a detailed discussion on each of those heritage sites from their history, popular attractions, and what to do and what not to do. This is the best guide to plan your trip to Nepal, keeping your specific interests in mind. So, brace yourself and join us in this journey of exploring the best heritages of Nepal. 

Latest News & Upates

our first-hand Himalayan travel experience

Changu Narayan Temple

Changu Narayan Temple is Nepal's oldest known Hindu temple, believed to have been established during the early Lichhavi dynasty.

by Swikar Jaiswal

Boudhanath Stupa

Dating back over 15 centuries, Boudhanath is one of the most sacred and oldest Buddhist Stupas in the world, located in Kathmandu, Nepal.

by Shailesh Bashyal

Pashupatinath Temple

Pashupatinath temple is one of the holiest Hindu temples in the world, dedicated to lord Shiva, located in Kathmandu Nepal.

by Karuna Bhattarai

Swayambhunath Stupa

Swayambhunath, popularly known as the Monkey Temple, is one of the most revered Buddhist pilgrimages in Nepal.

by Karuna Bhattarai

Kathmandu Durbar Square

The major attractions of Kathmandu Durbar Square include Hanuman Dhoka Palace, Taleju Temple, Kumari Ghar, Kasthamandap, Nautale Durbar, Gaddi Baithak, Indra Jatra, Gai Jatra, Shiva-Parvati Temple, etc.

by Karuna Bhattarai

Patan Durbar Square

Patan city has been around since the 11th century when Laxi Kamdev made Patan the capital city of the Lichhavi Dynasty.

by Karuna Bhattarai